MHA Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees oversees the business, affairs, and property of the Maryland Hospital Association. Members of the Board are elected during the annual membership meeting. Each Trustee holds office for a three-year term and can serve up to six consecutive years.

The Board of Trustees is MHA’s highest policymaking body and has the authority for most decisions, activities and functions.

Thomas Kleinhanzl – Chair

Board Chair; President & CEO, Frederick Health

Victoria Bayless – Vice Chair

Board Vice Chair; Chief Executive Officer, Luminis Health

Savas Karas – Treasurer/Secretary

Treasurer/Secretary; Board Member, MedStar Harbor Hospital; Chief Technology Officer/Chief Transformation Officer, CAPREIT, Inc.

Bradley Chambers

Chair, Governance Committee; Senior Vice President & COO, Baltimore Region MedStar Health

David Maine, M.D.

Chair, Council on Clinical & Quality Issues; President & CEO, Mercy Medical Center

Kevin Sowers

Chair, Council on Legislative & Regulatory Policy; President Johns Hopkins Health System

Mohan Suntha, M.D.

Chair, Council on Financial Policy; President & CEO, University of Maryland Medical System

Harsh Trivedi, M.D.

Chair, Compensation Committee; President & CEO, Sheppard Pratt Health System
placeholder speaker img

Alexander Austin

Chief Executive Officer, Prince George’s Chamber of Commerce

Jeremy Bradford

President & CEO, Calvert Health System, Inc.
placeholder speaker img

Diana Leon Brown

Chief of Staff, Government & External Affairs, Maryland Aviation Administration

Christina Fitts

Board Member, GBMC HealthCare; CEO, AJ Fitts Unlimited, LLC

Steven Leonard, Ph.D.

President & CEO, TidalHealth

Michele Martz

President, UPMC Western Maryland

Jessica Melton

Vice President, Strategic Initiatives, Johns Hopkins Health System

Neil Meltzer

President & CEO, LifeBridge Health
placeholder speaker img

Donald Owrey

President & CEO, Atlantic General Hospital

Eunmee Shim

President, Adventist HealthCare Fort Washington Medical Center

Elizabeth Wise

President & CEO, University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health