June 17, 2024

MHA Honors Sen. Cardin with Lifetime Achievement Award

MHA Members, Supporters Recognized During Annual Membership Meeting

Elkridge, Md. – The Maryland Hospital Association (MHA) honored its members and supporters during the Association’s Annual Membership Meeting for their efforts to advance health and health care.

In recognition of his incredible career and long-time support for hospitals, their dedicated employees, and their patients, MHA awarded U.S. Sen. Ben Cardin with the Healthy Hospitals, Healthy Communities Lifetime Achievement Award.

Sen. Cardin has represented Marylanders and made health care a priority in the U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives and, before that in the Maryland House of Delegates.

“MHA and the hospital field are grateful to Sen. Cardin for all he has done over decades of service to support hospitals and the health care community,” says Melony G. Griffith, MHA president & CEO.

“Sen. Cardin has been on the ground contributing to every part of the health care continuum. His work has had an incredible impact on hospitals, their dedicated employees, and their patients.”

Sen. Cardin said when accepting the award that it was an honor.

“Maryland is the prime example of a hospital community that understands its mission. Its mission is to the community,” he said Tuesday. “Maryland hospitals understand that and have always been committed to that mission. Under your leadership, Maryland will continue to show the nation how we can have healthy hospitals and healthy communities.”

MHA also was pleased to recognize several members and legislative supporters during its Membership Meeting. These include:

  • Outstanding Legislator Award 2024: Senator Pam Beidle
  • Rising Star: Delegate Tom Hutchinson
  • Advocacy Champion Awards 2024:
    • Dr. Neel Vibhakar, senior vice president and chief medical officer, University of Maryland Baltimore Washington Medical Center, and associate chief clinical officer, University of Maryland Medical System
    • Bernard Gerst, associate vice president and chief of security, safety, emergency management parking and transportation, LifeBridge Health
  • Oriole Award 2023: Adventist HealthCare Fort Washington Medical Center
  • Raven Award 2023: Brook Lane

The American Hospital Association (AHA) also presented several awards to MHA members:

  • AHA 100-year Membership Milestone Awards:
    • Mercy Medical Center
    • University of Maryland Medical Center
  • AHA Grassroots Award 2024: Garrett Regional Medical Center
  • AHA MVPP 2024 Award: Bradley Chambers, senior vice president and chief operating officer, MedStar Health, Baltimore Region
(Left to Right) Melony G. Griffith, MHA President & CEO; U.S. Sen. Ben Cardin; Thomas Kleinhanzl, president and CEO of Frederick Health and MHA Board Chair

(Left to Right) Melony G. Griffith, MHA President & CEO; U.S. Sen. Ben Cardin; Thomas Kleinhanzl, president and CEO of Frederick Health and MHA Board Chair



About the Maryland Hospital Association
The Maryland Hospital Association serves Maryland’s nonprofit hospitals and health systems through collective action to shape policies, practices, financing, and performance to advance health care and the health of all Marylanders. For more information, visit www.mhaonline.org.